top of page

Abuja drivers and madness

If you live in Abuja or ever had the opportunity to visit, then you are well aware of how good most of the roads are and not just how good, but also how wide they are.

I remember some years ago when my cousin who's not my cousin cousin but a child of my father's cousin visited (at this point I really don't know the term to use to describe us but we are sha related) and he asked me to show him round abuja. He had heard about the famous kilishi in the north and was pumped about it. He promised to get for me too if showed him around and if you know me you'd know I don't waste an opportunity for free food.

I became an instant google map and we started on our way (one of my super powers is "tour guide to food destinations"). I took him straight to area 1 so we could get the kilishi before going anywhere else (make e for no change mind). I remember how surprised he was at the cleanliness of the streets and how wide the roads were. He said it was calm and and clean, no rush, no craziness...well, up until abuja drivers showed him they had just resumed their night shift of madness.


The careless and reckless speed, blatant refusal to obey traffic rules and arrogance on their faces knowing fully well they're wrong made my cousin a bit shocked. I guess he felt because it was Abuja everyone here would be civil and upright. Coming from Lagos, he had high expectations of people living here.


We decided to pass through wuse 2 going back and boy was he more shocked. Everyone knows that junction by city park where all the drivers decide to make their cars French kiss each other at the center of the road.

Yes you read it right. The only reason why cars would come so close to eachother or even run into eachother at a traffic stop is because they were long lost lovers and decided to collide into passionate French kiss with their fenders.


Don't get me started on the ones that drive like they're on their way to fight.



Then there are the funny ones, the shape of their heads matches the shape of their cars...I kid you not.


Do you drive in Abuja? Had a crazy experience? Let me know in the comment section.

23 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
bottom of page