top of page

The Big Hit Hilda

All Hail Hilda, Queen of the chefs, record smasher, record setter, trail blazer, winner, superstar and an all round phenomenal woman.

On Thursday 4pm Nigerian time, Hilda Effiong Bassey popularly known as Hilda Baci began cooking in an attempt to break the Guineas World Record in what was wildly known as the Hilda Baci Cook-A-Thon.

Her goal was to cook for 96 hours beating the record set by Lata Tandon who cooked for 87 hours 45minutes. She not only reach her goal but with the support of friends, family, and the whole country, she surpassed it with extra 4 hours.

What a woman!


Now, I honestly didn't think she would be able to stand that long. As a woman that loves cooking, I know how painful and stressful it can be. The long hours standing, the heat, the back and knee pain, the heel pain, the numbness in the feet and don't get me started on the madness of just moving around, tasting, checking texture, and quality, calculating spies , quantity etc. it can be absolutely chaotic in the kitchen. I never doubted that she could do it (after all someone else has done it before), I was just considering all the variables and I was scared. Hilda is a much better woman than I am because she was brave enough to even start in the first place.


When the news broke out about her cramps and how she was still cooking, I knew at that point that she could do it it because it takes a special mental capacity and strength to cook while enduring cramps. Again, for someone who has gone through crazy painful cramps I am blown away, encouraged and inspired by her tenacity. Hilda is truly a Hit!


I would have sat down on the floor and started crying immediately I felt the cramps... I'll just tell everyone to go home because issolova!

After crying, I'll proceed to eat all the food I've made so far and then sleep because I cannot die and I hate stress in my life.


But his whole gist isn't complete without the mention of the wonderful people that turned up for Hilda.

From the ones that went there to eat and take away their dinner


To the ones that went to find love and they did...


To the people that entertained her, singing and hyping all through most especially the children 🥰


Her mum...what a woman! She prayed, encouraged and stood by her and most definitely inspired her to take on this herculean task


and her kitchen assistant Mr Sunday or as we have now named him, Brimsley. He was always one step behind her, urging her on and encouraging her, this man deserves some accolades.


Hilda's daring feat showed that nothing is impossible if you set your mind to it and if you take the steps to achieve it. It is a result of determination and preparation. It also shows that Nigerians truly love eachother because the support was massive and unprecedented. People travelled to witness and support, the whole country stood by her, totally amazing! Above all it shows if God is for you , nothing and no one can ever be against you.


Proverbs 16:7

"When a man’s ways please the LORD, He makes even his enemies to be at peace with him."


13 views0 comments

留言

評等為 0(最高為 5 顆星)。
暫無評等

新增評等
bottom of page