top of page

The Menace that is “Okada Riders”

Movement in the suburbs in Abuja is largely made easy for people without cars by the use of keke and motorcycles (okada)


Apart from the fact that we don't use helmets or any safeguarding tool which exposes us to the risk of sustaining severe injuries in case of any accident both for the motorcyclist and the passenger, there's also the issue of the pungent smell that escapes the mouth of the okada riders.


In my opinion, I believe there is a governing body or some type of organization these okada riders belong to and they pledge or sign an undertaken never to brush their mouths. It's either that or they're intentionally being wicked.


Have you ever spoken to an okada rider up close? It is a regrettable action, and the worst part is there's no warning, you're just hit with the smell of a 1 week dead rat lavishly escaping from the mouth of the okada rider. I call it an escape because I believe even the smell is tired of being their mouths.


And the first thing the smell does when it comes out is completely harrass your airways, like gives it a dirty slap so to say...

So recently I moved to maitama (the trenches part though😂😂) and I had to take an okada to move around. Stopped one and for some reason I forgot myself and moved closer than expected...ladies and gentlemen, I was almost knocked out by what hit me The ride to my destination was a sober reflection (if you know what I mean)

It was definitely not a nice experience at all. Have you ever had such an experience? What did it feel like? Share in the comment section.

46 views7 comments

Recent Posts

See All

7 Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
Unknown member
Dec 01, 2022

I’ve never seen any thing more accurate 😂

Like

Unknown member
Nov 29, 2022

Well written with creativity…….funny as well 😂💪

Like
Unknown member
Nov 29, 2022
Replying to

Thank you ma’am

Like

Unknown member
Nov 29, 2022

If you think the smell from their mouth is deadly then how do I describe the smell that comes from their armpits when breeze that we are meant to enjoy helps move the smell to your nostrils?😂

Crazy things are happening

Like
Unknown member
Nov 29, 2022
Replying to

It is a wild world out there 😂😭

Like

Unknown member
Nov 29, 2022

Creative

Like
Unknown member
Nov 29, 2022
Replying to

Thank you

Like
bottom of page